How long does it take to master Ember.js?

Hi everyone,

I am new to the ember community, I started learning Ember.js (ember-cli) few weeks ago, and I am just wondering how much time did you guys spent to master Ember.js and becoming experts. and what was the difficulties that you met ?

Thank’s

1 Like

I’m by no means an Ember “master”. On the contrary, I’m still working on learning Ember. The main issue I’ve faced so far is that things change very quickly. Most blog posts, tutorials and articles out there are outdated. I started learning ember writing all code on my own JS files. When I started to get the hang of it, ember-cli became the standard, and it added a bunch of new stuff I had to figure out (grunt, bower, brocolli, the ES6 syntax).

One other thing is that Ember is kinda “fresh” in the market, so there’s a bunch of stuff that is pretty trivial to do with other frameworks (front and backend) but there isn’t an established “ember way” to do it yet. It’s hard to find recipes for some tasks (and when you do, they are, again, outdated) and that’s pretty frustrating sometimes (Examples from my own experience: validations, authentication, loading model data into a select box, etc.)

OTOH, I was working on a pure JS project the other day and I thought “Man, this would be so simple to do in Ember!”. So even if it’s pretty frustrating sometimes, it’s definitely worth it. :wink:

3 Likes

I’ve been working with Ember for 2 years. It took me about a year to feel fully comfortable with the framework. I find best way to stay up to date with it is to subscribe to the weekly newsletter. http://emberweekly.com/ It helps that the company’s I’ve worked for use it, so being forced to use it on a daily basis helps.

2 Likes

I’m on month 2 or 3 with Ember. I just recently realized I must have moved up a level because now the things I can’t figure out how to do aren’t within the scope of the Todo example! :slight_smile: