Node-Webkit, ES6, AMD, and CommonJS [resolved!]

I’m really excited by the possibility of creating rich, cross platform desktop applications using Node-Webkit and Ember. Ember is perfectly suited for long-running apps, and the idea that we can break out of the web browser seems like a game changer.

With this in mind I’ve tried to setup a basic application. Ideally, I’d like to use the Ember-CLI workflow to build out the app, but I’ve run into some problems. Specifically, Node.js uses CommonJS requires, while Ember is compiled down from ES6 to AMD. Within the node-webkit app, when I use the require command, it assumes I’m using the CommonJS require and promptly explodes.

Has anyone had any luck compiling Ember down to CommonJS? Or likewise has anyone been able to get Node-Webkit up and running with Ember using the module pattern (I was able to get a browser version running… but it feels dirty…)?

I’m pretty new to modules and server side JS in general, so please be gentile with your responses and judgements. :blush:

As far as I’m concerned, you can’t do that. The only way to load Ember is a script tag. If you could event compile it to CommonJS module, it wouldn’t work in node’s context (it has no window). After it is loaded you can pass Ember and window to node’s context and work as usual.

Node-Webkit definitely exposes the window object (it’s webkit, but you can use native node modules). I think getting the window context into a module would be as simple as passing it in as a dependency.

sure, you can pass window and event attach it to global, but still there is not guarantee that Ember will initialize itself properly. My opinion, it safer and easier to load it in window context. The only caveat (at least, the only one I’ve discovered) is that you need to copy all Ember-specific prototype extensions from window-context globals to node.