Why do controllers exist?

I’m new to ember and I’m just befuddled about controllers, and why they are separate from routes? Was this a necessity in the design of ember or is it just the heavy hand of opinionated software?

If I proceeded to build a massive ember app, at what point would I have to use a controller?

1 Like

With the caveat that controllers are going away in like 2 months in favor of routeable components, here’s the distinction:

The route catches a URL, grabs the model for that route, does any necessary setup work, attaches the model as a property on the controller, and renders the view, which has a template. Any short-term state or bindings all happen on the controller. When your template has something like <p>{{someText}}</p>, it’s looking up someText on the controller. Ditto for any conditionals on your template, and any actions you fire on a template will look for a handler on the controller first.

Controllers were pretty much all-stars in Ember 1.x. There’s a few reasons they’re going away, but the reality is that not that much is actually changing. Components have everything controllers have, plus everything views have. Different name and concept, but they will end up serving the same function that controllers and views do now.

2 Likes

No wonder why I was so suspicious of controllers. They just had that will be refactored out feel to them.

Couldn’t you do this all with routes? I was a little dismayed recently when I put some actions in my route and they worked just fine. I thought I had finally understood controllers, and yet again I was wrong.