Why do we call components/controls views?

Continuing the discussion from Understanding how to architect a screen:

[quote=“alexspeller, post:2, topic:4910, full:true”] No, a view is an abstraction around a dom element and should primarily be concerned with handling dom events (and turning them into application-level actions).[/quote]

I am new to Ember (and wonder when I am going to stop saying that) and have struggled through the Ember cliff, with this being one of the difficult issues.

If a view is an abstraction around a DOM element (a control, a link, an image, a horizontal rule, a field element (text box, radio button, etc), etc) why do we call it a view? This really confuses me - it’s not the “view” in MVC? it’s a control/component on the view.

Can somebody explain this? Am I missing a principle or concept?

And I would seriously suggest changing that to make it easier for people to understand.

Yeah, I’m struggling with this too. Apparently Components are subclasses of Views, and are related to Helpers, but none of them work like Templates.

Not sure if I’ll be of much help here, but @end_user is correct in that Ember.Component is a subclass of Ember.View. There seems to be a bit of confusion around templates here though. Views can have a template but templates can’t exist without a view. Ember will automatically instantiate a View and that view will automatically use the template in the location its expecting.

For example, if you’re using Ember-CLI and have a file called index.hbs in the templates directory, but don’t have a file called index.js in the views directory, Ember actually instantiates a view for you and then since a template exists for that view it will be used.

Hope that helps clear things up a little.

Here’s another way of thinking about it: