Share code between routes

ember-cli: 2.13.2 node: 7.8.0

Hello, I’m a newbie at Ember.

I have a route with this code to set a body class. I will use this code on a couple of routes but not all. I was wondering if it’s possible to share this code between routes?

TIA

-Emmanuel

import Ember from 'ember';

export default Ember.Route.extend({
  activate () {
    Ember.$('body').addClass('loading-authentification');
  },
  deactivate () {
    Ember.$('body').removeClass('loading-authentification');
  }
});

yes, use mixins

Mixins are largely an anti-pattern now. Make sure you understand exactly how Ember’s mixin works and how the order that you mix these mixins actually results in different behavior.

On the larger perspective, it’s always good to know the inner working of Ember’s object model. Namely how all these works: .reopen, .reopenClass, .extend, Ember.mixin (lower case mixin).

1 Like

Hate to thread jack, but could you point to some resources about this?

Hello, thanks for the answers!

But, I’m really stuck here. Although I googled a lot, read all documentation that I can find, I can’t find a way to do this.

I tried with mixin, reopen and reopenClass.

I think I understand how to create a mixins/reopen/reopenClass but I can’t figure out how to put it in the route under activate/deactivate.

TIA

Ok I’m almost there:

In ./app.js I have set the import of the reopen file:

import SetBodyClass from './custom/css/set_body_class'

In ./custom/css/set_body_class.js I have the following code:

Ember.Route.reopen({                            
  set_body_class(this_class){                   
    console.log (this_class);                   
    alert(this_class);                          
    return Ember.$('body').addClass(this_class);
  }                                             
})

Then in /routes/authentification.js I have this:

activate () {                                                 
   this.set_body_class('red');