Best practice for repeated animation

I’m new to ember.js (really loving it) and have run into a question that I’m not sure the answer to. I’m asking here because it feels like it is possibly a best practice rather than just a practical question about one specific implementation.

Basically I’m creating a login using simple-auth and when a user incorrectly enters their information I want the login form to shake via an animation. I’m currently using liquid-fire for transitioning but this isn’t really transitioning and it isn’t an if/else kind of thing or a model change. It is an event bubbling up that could happen multiple times in a row. Here’s what the code looks like in the controller:

export default Ember.Controller.extend(LoginControllerMixin, {
    authenticator: 'authenticator:local',
    actions: {
        authenticate: function() {
            var self = this;
            this._super().then(null, function(message) {
                self.set('errorMessage', message);
                // what to do now for animation?
            });
        }
    }
});

Things are fuzzy for me in two ways:

1. I’m in a controller action, in a rejection of a promise, and need to make the template (or rather #login div on the template) animate.
  2. This could happen multiple times in a row, so it isn’t just setting a boolean to have liquid-fire create an animation. It would need to be unset and set again, which seems awkward.

From reading the docs, the controller should not know about the template, and I haven’t seen anywhere that I could access the template from the controller anyway. It seems like Views might be part of the solution, but I don’t think I understand Ember we’ll enough to be able to know what a correct way to do something like this would be.