Compile ember data

Hello everyone!

I’m completely new to emberjs. When I started reading about models in guides I realized that I need to compile ember-data by myself. Okay, went to http://stackoverflow.com/questions/14160898/compiling-ember-data, tried:

git clone git://github.com/emberjs/data.git - OK

cd data - OK

bundle install - there I got an error:

Gem::Installer::ExtensionBuildError: ERROR: Failed to build gem native extension.

/usr/bin/ruby1.9.1 extconf.rb 

/usr/lib/ruby/1.9.1/rubygems/custom_require.rb:36:in require': cannot load such file -- mkmf (LoadError) from /usr/lib/ruby/1.9.1/rubygems/custom_require.rb:36:inrequire’ from extconf.rb:1:in `’

Gem files will remain installed in /var/lib/gems/1.9.1/gems/posix-spawn-0.3.6 for inspection. Results logged to /var/lib/gems/1.9.1/gems/posix-spawn-0.3.6/ext/gem_make.out

An error occurred while installing posix-spawn (0.3.6), and Bundler cannot continue. Make sure that gem install posix-spawn -v '0.3.6' succeeds before bundling.

Then I tried: `gem install posix-spawn -v ‘0.3.6’ and got this:

Building native extensions. This could take a while… ERROR: Error installing posix-spawn: ERROR: Failed to build gem native extension.

/usr/bin/ruby1.9.1 extconf.rb

/usr/lib/ruby/1.9.1/rubygems/custom_require.rb:36:in require': cannot load such file -- mkmf (LoadError) from /usr/lib/ruby/1.9.1/rubygems/custom_require.rb:36:inrequire’ from extconf.rb:1:in `’

Gem files will remain installed in /var/lib/gems/1.9.1/gems/posix-spawn-0.3.6 for inspection. Results logged to /var/lib/gems/1.9.1/gems/posix-spawn-0.3.6/ext/gem_make.out

I’ve never worked with ruby. Seems a little bit complicated, what should I do to get the last ember-data.js?

Thanks in advance

You have to have Ruby 1.9.2+ as per the readme https://github.com/emberjs/data/blob/master/README.md#setup

Hmm, ruby -v shows:

ruby 1.9.3p194 (2012-04-20 revision 35410) [i686-linux]