Computed "Helpers" With @each

I’ll start off by saying I’m new to Ember so if this is supported in another way then I welcome clarification.

I ran into a use case where I needed the total of values from related ED models. However, I discovered that I basically needed to loop through each relation to add its value to the total, using reduce:

totalNumber: function(){
    return this.get('relatedModels').reduce(function(total, relation){
        return total + relation.get('numberValue');
    }, 0);
}.property('relatedModels.@each.numberValue')

But wouldn’t it be great if we could reduce that to just one line using the Ember.computed.sum helper?

totalNumber: Ember.computed.sum('relatedModels.@each.numberValue')

Doesn’t seem to work for me, but again maybe I’m just doing it wrong. I would imagine other computed helpers would benefit from this functionality as well.

Although I still cannot figure out if this is supported already, I’ve found a two line solution:

allNumbers: Ember.computed.mapBy('relatedModels', 'numberValue'),
totalNumber: Ember.computed.sum('allNumbers')

Although it would still be great if @each worked in sum(), I don’t need the allNumbers property for anything else…

Thoughts? I feel like the lack of discussion means this is a RTFM moment or such, which I’m fine with if that’s the case.

I think what you’re looking for is this…it’s behind a beta feature flag called composable-computed-properties.

This would enable you to do (note: haven’t tested this):

totalNumber: Ember.computed.sum( Ember.computed.mapBy("relatedModels", "numberValue") )

@Spencer_Price’s suggestion looks like what you’re looking for. Did it work for you @Panman8201?