Creating a Drop-down list

Hi I am new to ember and trying to create a dropdown list using .

Is there a way where I can access the selected item in drop down list in ember via component? Give me a short example.

Thanks in advance.

There are a number of ways to write a select component but the absolute simplest way would be like this:

// app/components/my-select.hbs
<select  {{on "change" (pick "target.value" @onChange)}}>
  {{#each @options as |theOption|}}
    <option value={{theOption}} selected={{eq theOption @value}}>{{theOption}}</option>
  {{/each}}
</select>

So what’s going on here?

• We’re rendering a <select > tag, that’s just standard HTML.
  • We’re adding an event handler to the select tag with the {{on ...}} modifier. This sets up an onchange handler and delegates the actual handling to the onChange argument of the component (so whatever is rendering the component can set the value, this component shouldn’t do any mutations itself)
  • We “pick” the target.value attribute from the change event (so the onChange function receives just the selected value, not the whole change event)
  • Next we render each option that was passed in using the option tag, and only mark the option tag as selected if @value is equal to the current option.

and then you could render it like this:

<MySelect
  @value={{this.selectedOption}}
  @options={{this.options}}
  @onChange={{set this "selectedOption"}}
/>

Here we’re binding the local “selectedOption” property to the @value argument of the select. Next we’re passing in options (I assumed they’re at this.options but you could pass them in with any alias of course). Lastly we’re setting up a change handler. The set helper (see note below) is just an easy way of saying "set the value we receive to the new value of this.selectedOption.

Note that I’m using helpers from three different helper libraries here:

• {{pick ...}} from ember-composable-helpers
  • {{eq ...}} from ember-truth-helpers