Ember Data and REST response

Hi,

I am kind of new to ember and I started to transition an existing web application to SPA. In the long run I would like to consider the browser just as another client consuming a REST api (among other clients like mobile apps…). The REST api is very similar to what is described in this great talk: Designing REST + JSON APIs So, it is not actually that similar to what is described as a JSON API.

For now I have come across a few issues with using the ember data RESTAdapter:

If I have a resource like: http://host.com/books the Adapter expects my response to be:

{   
  "books": [
    {
      "id": 1
    } 
  ] 
}

This is kind of redundant to me as I already know that I request for a list of books via the resource. So, it would be sufficient to just return the list of books:

[
  {
    "id": 1
  }
]

The above mentioned talk has a very neat convention about resource expansion via query parameters. However, I am just mentioning that, since I noticed that the JSON api relies on these conventions for that matter.

In that case you should probably adjust the way the adapter works in a subclass of the adapter. I think the way ember-data works is very standard, however. One usually has a root element, otherwise when you want to do sideloading, things would become… complicated.

I agree- the “standard” api conventions used in ember data don’t seem very standard. If you have control over your API, it’s a little less painful to roll with it. Some other things worth noting:

Most of the documentation examples show data being side-loaded (which is why everything needs root elements), but apis that don’t sideload will still work out the box as long as you include an array of ids for it to look up on additional requests.

The root elements are still subject to the pluralizer.

If your api is served from another domain, every endpoint has to be able to respond an OPTIONS request for its CORS headers.