Ember Textarea and wysihtml5

Hello. I’m new in EmberJs and I have problem with this code:

{{textarea type="text" id="some-textarea" value=model.content rows=40 cols=40}}

<script type="text/javascript">
        $('#some-textarea').wysihtml5({
            toolbar: {
                "font-styles": true, //Font styling, e.g. h1, h2, etc. Default true
                "emphasis": true, //Italics, bold, etc. Default true
                "lists": true, //(Un)ordered lists, e.g. Bullets, Numbers. Default true
                "html": true, //Button which allows you to edit the generated HTML. Default false
                "link": true, //Button to insert a link. Default true
                "image": true, //Button to insert an image. Default true,
                "color": true, //Button to change color of font
                "blockquote": true //Blockquote
            }
        });
    </script>

Unfortunatelly, Ember can’t catch the value from textarea(model.content). How I can fix this ?

I do not think that direct embedding scripts into a template is a good idea. It would be much better to use didInsertElement event:

didInsertElement: function () {
  this._super(); // Do not forget to call super method!

Ember.run.scheduleOnce('afterRender', this, function () {
    // Your code here
  });
}
2 Likes

You don’t have to call _super in this case, didInsertElement is defined as Ember.K which is a function that returns this, ie it doesn’t do anything. Read more here http://ember.zone/what-the-hell-is-ember-k/

Also I don’t think you need to use scheduleOnce either, my experiments so far have indicated that it only get called once after the DOM element is inserted.