Emberjs application structure

Hi,

I am new to emberjs and trying to setup the basic structure of a complex app. The majority of tutorials and the guides show the application structure of having all js code in app.js and all template code in a index.html file. This might work for a small demo app but in almost all real life cases you will want to modularize all the code and templates. From what I have been able to pick up from picecs around the web I should be able to put routes in router.js, controllers in controller folder, templates in template.hbs files etc. The guides briefly mention that it’s possible but show no examples of what the officially supported structure is. Right now I have structured my app like this example: https://github.com/emberjs-seattle/ember-reader/tree/master/app/assets/javascripts but nothing seems to render.

Would be thankful for some advice on what to do.

Thanks, Michael

After re-reading the guides it’s my understanding that I must manually include all .js files into my main html file. I was under the assumption that I only included app.js and that emberjs would then include the required files. How are the template.hbs files included?

A lot of the larger applications will be using build tools to include all the required files and compile templates etc. Check out Yeoman.

1 Like

Thanks I will check that out. Seems like grunt is the most popular way to compile handlebar templates. Being new to all this I thought emberjs/handlebars would parse the templates.

After a lot of trial and error I finally got my setup to work. I ended up using a node precompiler that works together with a php class called Assetic. This way everything works nicely with my php framework. I think the current guides do a good job at explaining how emberjs works but how to structure your app and how ember works with pre-compiled templates and all the options that exist needs to be improved. I got confused quite a few times on how to setup a more complex app.