How do I configure a many-to-many relationship?

I have a many to many relationship between users and accounts. When I create these records on sign up, I am able to see the id of the account I just created in the json for the users I just created, but I am not able to see the user ids in the account json I just created. I am trying to create these records with the associated ids. I am using Sinatra for the back end. This is my first time asking a question so my apologies if my question isn’t clear or code snippets aren’t formatted correctly. Here’s what I have:

user model

export default DS.Model.extend({

accounts: DS.hasMany('account'),

});

account model

export default DS.Model.extend({

users: DS.hasMany('user'),

})

sign-up route

model () {
    console.log("at model() on route for /sign-up");

let account = this.store.createRecord('account');
    let dentist = this.store.createRecord('user');
    let officeContact = this.store.createRecord('user');

let item = RSVP.hash({
        dentist: dentist,
        officeContact: officeContact,
        account: account,
    });

return item;

},

actions: {
    register (item) {
        console.log('at register action on route for /sign-up');

item.account.save()
            .then(function() {
                item.account.get('users').addObject(item.dentist);
                item.account.get('users').addObject(item.officeContact);

item.dentist.save().then(function() {
                    item.officeContact.save()
                })
            }).then(() => this.transitionTo('/'))

console.log("//ACCOUNT//");
        console.log(item.account);
        console.log("//DENTIST//");
        console.log(item.dentist);
        console.log("//OFFICE CONTACT//");
        console.log(item.officeContact)
    }
}
})

POST users

post '/v1/users' do
request.body.rewind
json = JSON.parse(request.body.read)
puts "#{json}"
account = Account.first(id: json['user']['accounts'][0].to_i)
json['user'].delete('accounts')