How to create a search box and display result

I have to say i spent quite some time on stackoverflow, emberjs.com guide and googling away and most exemple assume that you know much about ember… Well this is my first attempt to build a (phonegap) mobile app with ember and i already lost my mind. Ember seems very powerfull and does so much but i am really struggling to build my searchbox. I am using ember data and the RESTadapter, the app will live on the device (not on any server) I have a model (App.products) , a couple of pages (index, about) and from any of these pages i have a searchbox where to find a product. typing a name or a category should return a list of result on it’s on page, and clicking each result go to the single product… This is quite basic but i am not sure how to do it…

I have the simple pages working products (which i dont actually need), index and about. If someone could point me to the right direction that could be great…

I’d suggest creating a helper. Here’s a simple searchable field example given by Tom and Yehuda.

http://jsbin.com/ulukep/1/edit

1 Like

Ok i know it has been a couple of weeks now (i have been working on another project) and thank you for your input. My need is more like so: I use ember data and the DS.RESTAdapter. I have a search box on my “application” template with the action “doSearch” . in my applicationController i have “doSearch” function and from there i aint sure how to get the data, right URL path that would please ember data and how to output the result in my template. In other words, I AM LOST…!!!

//in applicationController
doSearch: function() {
// the current value of the text field
	var query = this.get('search');
	//this.transitionToRoute('search', { query: query });

this.set('searchQuery', query);
    this.transitionToRoute('search', query);

}

//in router
this.route("search", { path: "/search/:query" })

//in index.html data-template-name="searchpage"
<h1>Search</h1>