How to properly setup nested routes and integrate mirage

Hey, I’m working with Ember 2.8 and I’ve added mirage to my project to help with testing. I’ll also be building the backend so I was planning to follow the JSON API specs to deliver the data. So with that in mind, I’m assuming I’d just use the standard adapter that ships as my understanding it is for JSON API. I’m new to Ember and there is a lot of conflicting information out there, especially since things have changed in the past year in terms of approach.

I have two issues I’m toiling with. One is how to setup the routes and two is getting Mirage to work with models with relationships.

#1) Settings up routes and working with JSON API

Initially I had nested routes, so I was thinking something like this: GET /posts/3/comments/1

// router.js
this.route('posts', { path: 'posts'}, function() {
	this.route('view', {path: ':post_id'}, function() {
	    this.route('comments', {path: 'comments'}, function() {
	        this.route('view', {path: ':comment_id'});
	    });
	});
});

I had two models, post and comment, where post had as hasMany(‘comment’) attribute.

Now I’m not sure if this is the best way to set this up. I was hoping to take advantage of nested templates (for things like having a posts list alongside a post, etc.) – but if that doesn’t work, I can think of an alternative way with components. Not sure if this setup works with JSON API or if ember is just handling on the proper calls under the hood for me.

This kind of worked to a point, but broke down once you try to look at comments… which brings me to my next point…

#2) Getting Mirage to work fully

I setup my corresponding models.

// mirage/models/post.js
export default Model.extend({
	comments: hasMany('comment')
});

and I am using fixtures to put in some predefined data.

// mirage/fixtures/posts.js
export default [{
    title: 'My First Post',
    body: 'Lorem ipsum',
    comments: [1, 2]

},