"I contribute to Ember" with Chris Garrett

Hello folks and welcome to the ninth edition of the interview series “I contribute to Ember” , presented by the folks at The Ember Times :slight_smile:

This week we’d like to highlight the work of contributor @pzuraq who talks about his story getting involved with working on native classes and decorators in Ember and why everyone in the community is eager to help make your contribution a real success as well.

How did you get started with using Ember?

I got started [with Ember] as I was working at a small speciality car sales company in the Bay area when I was a student. And I was tasked with building this very large, very grandiose application. It was supposed to cover all these use cases for […] CRMs, it was supposed to manage the content on the website, it was supposed to manage their inventory [and much more], and they thought they could build this project with a single college student on a very, very limited budget. And my manager [being] a person who had lots of experience with the .NET stack and Microsoft back in the day, like 10 years before this, he wanted me to build a .NET app. I started looking into it, and I realised that that was gonna be very hard. NET is not super accessible if you haven’t learned much about the Microsoft stack. [As in] it’s not easy to google: “How do I start a .NET application?”.

So I decided to instead pitch [the project] with a Ruby on Rails backend and a JavaScript frontend. And I debated between Ember and Angular for quite a while, but I went with Ember cause their router was just way better. And this is how I got started using it.

What have you been working on recently?