🥳 Just found out how easy octane makes it to filter and sort data

If I would need to sort and filter some data, this previously looked like this:

sort = ['created:desc'];
@sort('inviteLinks', 'sort')
sortedLinks;

@filter('sortedLink', link => link.used != null)
displayedLinks;

(invitedLinks is the array containing all elements, sortedLinks are sorted and displayedLinks removes all items that should not be displayed)

I’d be reading in various places (like discord) that it often is recommended to no longer use these functions provided by ember (not going into details here, as I am no expert on that matter)

However, I was struggling with finding a replacement - and recently I have been recommended to use macro-decorators for such a purpose. Unfortunately I could not get them to work probably for this use case.

Yesterday, I just thought I might be not need those at all, if the required parts are properly @tracked. And this turned out to be true. This is all I needed:

@tracked inviteLinks;

get activeLinks() {
  return this.inviteLinks.filter((link) => link.used == null)
                         .sortBy('created')
                         .reverse();
}

Awesome. Not third party libs required, and this is a lot nicer to read.

Just sharing this in case anybody is struggling with similar things - and just kind of missing the obvious.

(though this might not currently update correctly if any of the dependent variables change during runtime - like the used or created field is updated - still need to check that - I think tracked only tracks the array and not it’s content)

1 Like

This is indeed great, and thanks for writing it up!

You’re right that if you need to track the array’s content, you’ll need to tweak how inviteLinks gets set:

• you can use a “purely functional update” style, where you do this.inviteLinks = this.inviteLInks.concat(someNewLink) and similar
  • you can use @pzuraq’s tracked-built-ins as long as you don’t need :fire: DIAF IE11 :fire: support