Large file uploads with Ember.js

Hi everyone,

I have been working on a project where I am creating an admin for content creators to be able to create different types of media. I was able to get a successful way to be able to upload image, audio and video files and also have a preview with them. I was so pumped when I got that working and then I tried to upload a large movie and it hit me that I had not thought of where the data was actually being stored… my ember model in memory. So of course my browser crashed. This is my first time working with media let alone large media so I was wondering if you guys have any ideas or tips to help me out.

Thanks, Will

I would suggest wrapping plupload in an ember view and, as much as possible, handling the file creation/uploads outside of Ember Data.

Create a proper asset model (server side) and an api endpoint that accepts file uploads. Use Plupload to send the files, and once the file has been uploaded/created you can handle the association on the client.

That’s how we’ve handled it and it’s been pretty nice so far.

3 Likes

Thanks so much Emereson! I created a solution based on your comment. I have it send the file to AWS S3 and then associate the URL on the client when I get the response back.

1 Like

We are trying to implement plupload with ember now as well. Do you happen to have a code example of your approach that you would be willing to share?

1 Like

I haven’t seen that plug-in before- I think I like that better than using the FileReader API.

Server-side, the code I use for this kind of thing looks like this (using PHP and Slim):

<?php
	$RestServer->post("/upload", function () use ($RestServer) {
		$base_url = "/home1/username/public_html/site_name_here/";

$file_name = "files/other/" . $RestServer->request->params("fileName");
		$file_data = $RestServer->request->getBody();

$is_success = file_put_contents($base_url . $file_name, $file_data);

if (!$is_success){
			$RestServer->response->setStatus(501);