Let a Helper return a string from a JSON-object using 'fetch'

Hi, I’m new to Ember (and fairly new to JS and programming altogether).

I’m trying to create a Helper called random.js that will fetch a JSON object from an external API, and return one string from that object to the Template that calls the Helper. I’ve created this (and dozens of variants of it):

import { helper } from '@ember/component/helper';
import fetch from 'fetch';

export function random() {
  return fetch('https://www.randomtext.me/api/gibberish/p-1/20-40')
    .then(res => res.json())
    .then(body => body.text_out)
}

export default helper(random);

The Helper keeps returning an object, even though body.text_out is exactly what I need (and it is of type ‘string’). Any advice on how I can make this Helper return the string body.text_out to the Template?

I think you probably want to make a component for this instead of a helper. Helpers aren’t meant to deal with asynchronous state like a fetch, which is why it returns an object (the promise that is returned by fetch). Helpers are basically like small utility functions for a template that return immediately, so their applicable uses with async state are limited (basically they have to return an async value like a promise or ember-concurrency task to something else that knows how to handle it).

If you really want to use a helper you could try a PromiseObject though I wouldn’t necessarily recommend that approach. Another option would be trying out an addon like this and putting your helper inside that addon’s await helper.

If you anticipate doing lots of data fetching in components I’d also recommend checking out ember-concurrency. It’s a lot to wrap your head around at first but it is a more ergonomic way to deal with async tasks in templates (or in js for that matter) and support cancellation which is a huge plus.

Thank you so much, @dknutsen! I really appreciate your help.