Model "is a" Relationship

Hi, I am very new to Ember.

I have an “associate” model and a “collector” model, which extends associate. Collector is also a subset of associate and no associate can be duplicated in collector.

//associate model import DS from ‘ember-data’;

export default DS.Model.extend({
   associateId: DS.attr('number')
  ,lastName: DS.attr('string')
  ,firstName: DS.attr('string')
  ,nickname: DS.attr('string')
  ,phoneExtension: DS.attr('string')
});

//collector model import DS from ‘ember-data’; import associate from ‘./associate’;

export default associate.extend({
   isSpanishSpeaker: DS.attr('number')
  ,isConciergeEligible: DS.attr('number')
  ,shiftName: DS.attr('string')
  ,isActive: DS.attr('number')
  ,subscriptions: DS.hasMany('call-queue')
});

I’m having trouble finding the correct “Ember way” to model this relationship.

1. I want to be able to pick members from associate and add them to collector
  2. I want to create a pick list of associates that are not collectors
  3. When I add an associate to the collector set, I want the pick list in #2 to remove that associate from its list.

Finally, the action below, “addAssociateToCollectors()”, is giving me the following error: “Assertion Failed: Ember.Object.create no longer supports defining computed properties. Define computed properties using extend() or reopen() before calling create().”.

The setDiff is also not working.

//controller for my ‘add’ template for collector

export default Controller.extend({
	 associateToAdd: null
	,availableAssociates: setDiff('model.associates', 'model.collectors') //this does not work

,actions: {
		setAssociateToAdd(value) {
		   this.set('associateToAdd', value); //set by picklist in template
		}
		,addAssociateToCollectors() {
		   this.store.createRecord('collector', {
			  associateId: this.associateToAdd.id
			 ,firstName: this.associateToAdd.firstName
			 ,lastName: this.associateToAdd.lastName
			 ,nickname: this.associateToAdd.nickname