Newbie: How to extend console.log functionalities the Ember way?

Hi everybody

I am new to Ember and Javascript (I do have a C++, Java, Rails background)

I often use console.log() from my code (route, component, controller JS files) to post helpful messages to Chrome console.

After finding out that I can use custom console stylesheets in Chrome to improve readability of my messages (see here) I now often log like this:

// inside my-component.js console.log(‘%cMy function is called’, ‘color: green; font-size: large’);

What I am after, is to make a simple JS class (or any other appropriate JS entity for that matter) with logging functions (log, info, error etc) which apply the styles automatically.

Ideally, I would like to log like this:

// inside my-component.js
// somehow import my pretty-logging code
myConsole.log('My function is called); // this should print the message in chrome console in green and with large font

So here is my JS and Ember question wrapup:

1. Should I somehow extend the built-in console ember object with functions like console.mylog, console.myInfo etc?
  2. Would it be a better idea to somehow override the built-in Ember console functions and add styles of my own?
  3. WHERE should I put the new code/overrides? Where does Ember expect my code and how do I import it to the rest of my code?
  4. Will logging from .hbs files be possible by the way you might suggest?

I know these questions are a bit generic, however please note that my purpose here is NOT to get a snippet or a quick hack to solve the problem at hand. What I would rather know is the best approach for adding custom code to my Ember JS project the-Ember-way thus making me a better Ember programmer.

many thanks in advance

George

1 Like

Ember already provides loggers for that Ember - 4.6 - Ember API Documentation

Thanks for your quick reply. Not sure if I am missing something, but following the link you provided I read:

EMBER.LOGGER CLASS