Hi,

I have a route which returns 2 models eg for a product route

model() {
  return Ember.RSVP.hash({
     page:pageModel,
     data:model
  })
}

In my product controller I want to access the (data) model. I have tried (amongst other things!)

setupController(controller,model) {
   this._super(controller,model);
   // more code 
   controller.set('productModel',model.data);
 }

However, I can’t access the productModel in the controller - eg within the init function

init() {
   let test = this.get('productModel'); 
   console.log(test.get('firstObject'); 
}

Probably doing something very basic incorrectly!

If I understand your question correctly, you can access the model from the controller like:

let model = this.get(‘model’);

/* or */

let page = this.get(‘model.page’);

There is no need for the setupController / init.

Even without the controller, in the template {{model.page}} should work.

Cheers

[Warning: Another Ember beginner here - trying to help:)]

1 Like

Hi,

Many thanks for getting back.

You are quite right - no need to call setupController, but in this case I am injecting 2 models into my route (Ember.RSVP) so I wasn’t sure if that would make any difference. In any event, if I write in my controller

let page = this.get('model.page');

the value is null.

The reason I used the init hook in the controller was to try and grab the first object in the model.

I am doing all of this because I’m trying to set the selected state using the ember-power-select add on http://www.ember-power-select.com/ when you first load the page…

Hope that helps!

I think you are getting a null value, because you are calling it in controller.init. The value is only set after all of the promises have been resolved (which is not yet in controller.init). I don’t know how the select component works, but can’t you set the default (of the select) from the template ? That way you would not need a controller at all …

Cheers

Hi,