Resolving multiple sequential ember-data operations

I’m new to both ember-data and promises. How would something like this be done? This is simplified code for an add-to-cart function. I want to get the cart record from the store, add the item to it, save the cart, then return the newly-added item from the cart object all the way back to the calling function.

As it is now, it’s sending back the findRecord promise, and I need it to return the innermost object (under the “// I WANT TO RETURN THIS OBJECT” comment), or present an error if that does not come back.

// calling function
doAdd(item).then(response => {
	successMessage("Successfully added `${response.skuid}`");
}).catch(e => {
	failMessage("Failed to add item `${e.message}`);
});

// function with sequential stuff - need to return innermost object
doAdd(item) {

let self = this;

// get cart record from store
	return this.get('store').findRecord('cart', id).then(cart => {

// add item to items array of cart object
		cart.get('items').addObject(item);

// persist cart back to API
		cart.save().then(newCart => {

// set updated cart object to cart service
			set(this, 'cartObj', newCart);

// send back newly-added item from the cart object
			// I WANT TO RETURN THIS OBJECT TO THE CALLING FUNCTION
			return newCart.get('items').findBy('skuid', item.skuid);

});		

});
}

Hi @midget2000x, you’re actually dealing with some pretty complex ideas here (async data is hard!) but I think you can take advantage of the framework a little more to simplify things.

First, a cart specifically is usually a singleton, and generally “application level” state, so I would recommend maybe making a cart service that: