Serializer for custom json payload

Hi,

I’m new in the ember world and have some difficulties with where to put what. Maybe for someone it will be peace of cake.

Any way I have managed to create my first app, that loads json data form the server. However later on the structure of json has been changed and I cannot figure out how to solve that in ember models or in any other way.

I have json structure like:

{
  "users": [
      {
        "id":1,
        "title":"User 1",
      },
    ],
  "error":null
}

For Ember conventions everything is ok with users array, but what to do with error? Should I write a serializer? Or should error be defined as a model?

Thanks for any help.

I’m using:

Ember : 1.2.0
Ember-data : 0.14 Handlebars : 1.1.2 jQuery : 1.10.2

If you don’t want Ember Data to try to convert error into a model, then you can just remove it from the payload before that happens. I usually do that in ApplicationSerializer#extractMeta(store, type, payload).

Whatever serializer handles serializing Users model.

App.UserSerializer = DS.RESTSerializer({
  extractMeta: function(store, type, payload) {
    if ( payload.error ) {
      // handle the error somehow
    }
    delete payload.error;
    return payload;
  }
});

Thanks for replay. The idea suits me, but I do not know if that is working. But that I think is my poor knowledge of ember.

Where should the model’s serializer be defined? It is hard to find working example of serializers. Ive structured my ember app as ember-rails generator did. And my user model:

App.User = DS.Model.extend({
  title: DS.attr('string'),
});

My store.js file is:

App.Store = DS.Store.extend({
  revision: 12,
  adapter: DS.RESTAdapter.create({
    namespace: 'api/v1'
  })
});

Thanks.

It looks like you’re using an old version of Ember Data. There is a document that describes the difference between the latest beta and the old version. I’m not sure how you would do this in the old version.

What guides are you following?