Sorting table rows in Ember

I have some experience with Angular and I’d like to learn Ember to make sure I’m using the right tool for the job. I’ve looked at Tom’s demo “blog” video and browsed the docs, but honestly I’m finding it a little tough to do simple things.

For instance, assume we have a table that writes out dynamic rows. Looking around SO, this is the best way I’ve found to sort on row properties:

Template

<table>
  <thead>
    <th {{action "sort" "id"}}>ID</th>
    <th {{action "sort" "name"}}>Name</th>
  </thead>
  <tbody>
    {{#each item in sortedContent}}
      <tr>
        <td>{{item.id}}</td>
        <td>{{item.name}}</td>
      </tr>
    {{/each}}
  </tbody>
</table>

App

App = Ember.Application.create();

App.IndexRoute = Ember.Route.extend({
  actions: {
    sort: function(sortBy) {
      var previousSortBy = this.controller.get('sortProperties.0');

if (sortBy === previousSortBy) {
        return this.controller.set('sortAscending', !this.controller.get('sortAscending'));
      }
      else {
        this.controller.set('sortAscending', true);
        return this.controller.set('sortProperties', [sortBy]);
      }
    }
  }
});

App.IndexController = Ember.ArrayController.extend({
  sortProperties: ['id'],
  sortAscending: true,
  content: [{ id: 1, name: "a" }, {id: 2, name: "b"};],
  sortedContent: (function() {
    var content = this.get("content") || [];

return Ember.ArrayProxy.createWithMixins(Ember.SortableMixin, {
      content: content.toArray(),
      sortProperties: this.get('sortProperties'),
      sortAscending: this.get('sortAscending')
    });
  }).property("content.@each", 'sortProperties', 'sortAscending')
});

First off, please correct me if there is a simpler way to do this. I’m just going off what I’ve seen used elsewhere.

A few things strike me about this:

1. Does the entire controller need to extend ArrayController? What if I had lots of other data and this array was just a portion of it?