Understanding Ember with a background in AngularJS

Try as I might, I can’t wrap my head around Ember. I am new to MVC frameworks but Angular is easy enough that I was able to learn it quickly. If anyone has experience with both frameworks and perhaps AngularUI’s UI Router, then maybe they can help me to finally understand Ember.

1.) Behind the scenes

With Angular, I pretty much put all of my logic in factories/services. These services talk to one another via dependency injection, which is as easy as passing factoryFoo as an argument to factoryBar.

With Ember, I am not sure where to put my logic. What belongs in the route? What belongs in controllers? Where do I put my constructors, my object instances, and my general services?

2.) The “model”

There isn’t any rigid concept of a model in Angular. I can toss around data in my services and then pick and choose which data I want to show in the view.

In Ember, it seems that the model just describes a record. Records are stored on a remote server or maybe locally in localStorage. However, this record is just a simple JSON object. What if my record is actually a complicated object with properties that include arrays and functions? What if my record has a function that periodically modifies another property of that record, all while in the background?

3.) Routing

In Angular, I can use UI Router’s resolve function (or I can create my own function) in order to pick data from factories/services to pass to my controller.

Is the model hook in the route the equivalent of this? The only examples I’ve seen either retrieve records from the store or the model (['red, 'yellow', 'blue']) is explicitly typed out and returned to the hook. What if I’m not using Ember Data and my “record” exists in some other file? Is it even possible to stick a model/record in some random factory outside of Ember Data?

4.) Ember conventions and modularity