What is the the point of the route url segments?

HI,

I am relatively new to Ember, but have done a few tasks with it enough to gather some questions. One thing I am slightly at ends about is the url segments/router stuff. I can’t understand how you can define just one state for your page at any one time. Usually you might have multiple things going on on the page?

If I have two lists both with separate paginators and I wanted my route to take a parameter to represent the page number, say, how can one url segment represent two completely independent lists, one not being a child of the other? Or how could it be done so that it makes sense (yes you could have a parent route and a child to represent two lists but this is messy).

Also what if I have two separate systems on the page that need their own templates but, one is not actually a child of the other in any sense of the word.

Query params are one way to do what you’re asking. Only one leaf route can be active in an ember application - it’s possible to imagine a router where this constraint was not present but I’m not aware of any projects that tackle it.

since you mention this, are you using this.store.query() for this? How do you update a list onscreen that is using this.store.query(). The template does not get updated and I am struggling to track down how to update the template.

I realise ember doesn’t know if the filtered view should show the new object or not. Do you create a separate array of newly added objects and display them underneath?

generally I use queryParams in conjunction with the refreshModel flag

Yes, I was wondering though if we you have a list:

{{#each model as |job|}}

• Id: {{job.id}} Reference: {{job.reference_caption}} Caption: {{job.caption}}
  • {{/each}}

When I create a create:

var record = this.get('store').createRecord('job', data); record.save();