A,
} = Ember;

export default Component.extend({

aProperty: A([]),

anotherCP: computed(..., function() {

return A([...]);
    }),

})

Why Ember.A is always used to wrap datas ? What are the advantages ?

Thanks,

I’m new to Ember but it seems to make it easier to create an Ember.NativeArray. The syntax of A() is quicker and easier to read than Ember.A(). The code reads closer to the native JavaScript constructor Array then it would using Ember.A(). Also the shorthand decomposition using const {... A, ...} = Ember references methods/properties from the Ember object to a token in the current scope so the file doesn’t have tons and tons of Ember.(this|that|and|the|other|thing) everywhere.

One benefit besides readability could be that referencing the method/property into the current scope negates the need for JavaScript to “lookup” the property each time it is accessed with Ember.A. I don’t think lookup time is the reason people do it though because modern JS Engines handle those sorts of optimizations well anyways. I think it’s just for readability.

It might be interesting to note that Ember can extend the Array.prototypeso that you don’t ever even have to use Ember.A() at all. But it’s not a suggested way to work with Ember. Many JavaScript developers will tell you not to extend prototypes ever. Not in every case, but In this case I would agree.

1 Like

Thank you for your response.

no problem with ES6 syntax. In fact, I would like to know why some Ember developers use Ember.Array instead of native javascript Array.

Thanks,

1 Like

Ember.A has a number of methods that are not native Array proto methods (addObject, pushObjects, etc.). Ember hangs these methods off Array.proto by default but some engineers, like myself, opt out of these extension methods since it’s confusing to others on boarding not understanding how these methods are available but also they sometimes conflict with third-party libraries that hang their own prototype extension methods.