How to customize Foundation scss styles within ember-cli project

I have an ember-cli project in which I have included the Foundation css framework. I should mention that I am completely new to using SCSS so please bear with me!

My app/styles/app.scss file looks like:

@import 'vendor/foundation/scss/normalize';
@import 'vendor/foundation/scss/foundation';

Now I want to override some of the styles; my question is where and how do I do this? It does not make sense to alter the code in bower_components/foundation but I am not clear on how else to do it.

What is the correct way to do this?

Many thanks,

Michael

1 Like

Hi Michael,

you can take a look at our code, how we are importing Foundation: https://github.com/artificialio/sane/blob/master/client/app/styles/app.scss

Basically, the minimum you should copy over into the styles folder is the settings.scss becauae there you can overwrite default values from foundation such as primary colour, font-family etc.

I also choose to include the foundation.scss itself in our styles folder so we can pick and choose which module we want to include and which not (e.g. I might not need progress bars etc)
All the rest should stay in the bower_components folder and you can just do @import 'bower_components/...'

To override further stuff, foundation provides some mixins you could use, or you can simply override the classes directly in one of your own scss files.

1 Like

Awesome! Thanks for this!

On the subject of Foundation, has anyone had any trouble with some of their Javascript UI elements? I played with the framework awhile back and had to do this:

didInsertElement: function() {
    this.$().foundation('topbar');
    this.$().foundation('clearing');
    this.$().foundation('reveal');
    this.$().foundation('reveal-modal');
    this.$().foundation('reveal-id');
  },
  willDestroyElement: function() {
    this.$().foundation('topbar', 'off');
    this.$().foundation('clearing', 'off');