Best approach to upgrade from Ember 1.0 to Ember 2.13

Hi All,

I am new to Ember. I have a task to upgrade from Ember 1.0 to Ember 2.13. I can see that there is an Ember upgrade guide available at ‘The Meta Guide to Upgrading EmberJS’ but I do not get a clear idea on my situation as Ember 1.0 is not even listed on Ember ‘https://emberjs.com/’. One of the main point the upgrade guide talks about is taking a note of deprecations but not how to make a note of those in my case as there may be a hell lot of(not sure). Someone suggested to go by creating your own javascript engine but I never worked on javascript engine as well. Can anyone please help to provide a best practical approach for my problem. Any help would really be appreciated.

Regards,

Hi @TechLov, it depends on the size and complexity of your application. If it is very small it would not be hard, but if it is small\medium\big and complex I would say the upgrade will be the same as you would rewrite the app from scratch (but copy-paste some logic).

Note, Ember 2.x does not have views, partial views, so you will need to re-implement them with components. You will need to use ember-cli with the structure of files it proposes. By default, ember-cli expects you to use ES6, npm, so you need to know how it works. If you use Ember-data, it would need your backend to support json api specifications http://jsonapi.org (by default, ember-data 2.x uses JsonApiAdapter, but ember-data 1.x used RestAdapter)

I have couple applications written on Ember 1.9. When I need to upgrade them I would just look at the task as I need to write the apps from scratch