Class- and id- names uniqueness

Hi Gys,

i am new to ember and planning my new app.

what is the best way to deal with stylesheets?

in rails by example you can link the stylesheets to specific views and if the app grows and you have different views with different stylesheets and similar class-names than there is (maybe) the reload between them and you have no conflict.

but, how is that in a single-page-app?

how do you make sure that you do not use a class-name that is already used in a other stylesheet / view?

namespaces?

or a little tool that checks the stylesheets and warns in that case?

Best regards, Christian

Update:

i found a similar discussion:

and a nice tool: GitHub - salsify/ember-css-modules: CSS Modules for ambitious applications, it prefixes the class-names. But at the end i donā€™t want to have any automatism in class-naming.

the best would be if the IDE wold check for CSS-selectors. There is a issue on IntelliJ. You can vote for it, i think it would be a great help. https://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/WEB-74

for me it seems that the next-steps will be:

1. Having Style-Sheets beside Template / Components (i am working with Module-Unification)
  2. Have a Prefix, by example ā€œpe-ā€ for the people-Template
  3. Name of the Stylesheet is then: ā€œpe-styles.scssā€
  4. All the Stylesheets are collected by ā€œ@import ā€˜ā€¦/pe-styles.scssā€™ā€
  5. All the classes which are defined in ā€œpe-styles.scssā€ have the prefix ā€œpe-ā€

=> with that i have a overview for all prefixes in the main-stylesheet, by the import-steps and a manually namespacing.

For the Future i hope that IntelliJ insert the above mentioned inspector.

What do you think?

Best Regards, Christian