Ember Data: RSVP Question

Hello,

I’m new to Ember and trying to wrap my head around returning multiple model data using RSVP.hash.

Let’s say I have data models called: thing1 thing2 thing3

Returning and displaying these values on a single model is straight forward following these guides: https://guides.emberjs.com/v2.12.0/routing/specifying-a-routes-model/#toc_multiple-models

Am I able to have thing1, thing2 and thing3 combine to make the value things? Which after reading this seemed to be possible. http://emberjs.com/api/classes/RSVP.html#method_all

What I am currently trying to do is define the value things on my routes/things/index whereas things1 sits at routes/things/thing1/index etc…

And once things is defined I assume I then just call {{#each model as |things|}} in my hbs template.

As mentioned, I’m new so this may not be the Ember way of doing things I keep reading about so any advice is much appreciated.

Thanks!

I am not 100% sure I understand the question but I think you are looking for setupController.See:

Thanks @broerse, I think setupController might be what I need as well.

What I’m trying to do in a nutshell: I have 3 models displaying data on 3 separate pages. On my fourth page, I want to display all of these models.

So my thinking (which could be wrong :slight_smile: ) is to make a single variable which I can call in my template instead of having to call all 3 models.

Does that make more sense?

RSVP.hash will still create 3 root keys so I think I would setup 3 models on the fourth route. If the information in the 3 models is exactly in the same structure and you want to squash them in one array I think you need to use Ember.computed to create it.

I can’t really answer your question, but this is a good resource: How to Load Multiple Models in a Single Route - Ember Igniter for many models.