Multiple models on one page? Is it really that difficult?

I am relatively new with Ember, written a few different web pages with it. Still haven’t made my mind up whether I like it or not as most things have been a faff on. But I’m hoping it will get clearer with time and hope I gradually get things right the first time more.

If I am using ember data, and I have a page with 2+ completely unrelated lists on say users, and products, how is the right way to handle this? On the surface it seems a really obvious thing to want to do. If I use RSVP.hash I have a feeling that refreshing one list (for paginating it) will refresh the other one as well but this is not efficient. But I want to paginate one of the lists, why would I want the other list to be retrieved as well? Can’t I keep them separate?

Why is Ember making what would normally be a simple thing an architectural problem?

You could keep the logic in a service which you can access from your route. This way you could keep the logic for when each list should be refreshed in the service, and you could inject this service into your route and access these methods.

Hi Ben.

You’re probably using RSVP.hash() in your route.model() function. But the result of the promise then gets copied to some controller properties, right? I think you can work with those properties independently in the controller (and in the router as well) - just use this.store to do whatever you need and update the corresponding model with this.set('prop', result)

A quick answer became a very long post, hope it comes up being useful.

tl;dr: Ember’s store reuses data if it’s already in it, don’t worry too much about using RSVP.hash(). Sometimes you might want to use this.store.find() somewhere else that isn’t a route. And finally, look at the ApplicationRoute and outlets.