isEditing nested within an #each... unable to edit

I’m having a problem trying to get my edit action working on a list created by #each model. When I take out the #each I obviously can’t see anything but my edit button works. Is it because within the #each the edit button needs to pass an ID through?

<script type="text/x-handlebars" data-template-name="clientTimeSheet">
{{#each model}}
{{#if isEditing}}
{{partial 'clientTimeSheet/edit'}}
<button {{action 'doneEditing'}}>Done</button>
{{else}}
<button {{action 'edit'}}>Edit</button>
{{/if}}
<table>
  <tr><td>{{timeLogDate}}</td></tr>
  <tr><td>{{firstName}}</td></tr>
  <tr><td>{{lastActivity}}</td></tr>
  <tr><td>{{timeIn}}</td></tr>
  <tr><td>{{timeOut}}</td></tr>
  {{#each activity in activities}}
    <tr><td>{{activity.content }}</tr></td>
  {{/each}}
  <tr><td>Ratio</td></tr>
</table>
{{/each}}
</script>

Is my nesting incorrect? I’m new to Ember + to JS so please go easy on me :slight_smile:

Your edit and doneEditing actions are called on the controller. The controller won’t know which model you are trying to edit. You can pass a model to the {{action}} handler as the second argument. See the docs under “Additional parameters”.

So your template should look like this:

{{#each model}}
{{#if isEditing}}
{{partial 'clientTimeSheet/edit'}}
<button {{action 'doneEditing' this}}>Done</button>
{{else}}
<button {{action 'edit' this}}>Edit</button>
{{/if}}
....rest of template

And then handle it in your controller like this:

App.WhatheverController = Ember.ArrayController.extend({
  edit: function(item) {
    item.set('isEditing', true);
  },
  doneEditing: function() {
    item.set('isEditing', false);
    //Commit the record...
  }
});

Better solution

An even better solution would use the non-block version of {{each}} and use a separate controller and template for each item.

See this example: http://jsbin.com/epeyip/1/edit