Merge multiple record partial data into unique model

Hi, I’m querying multiple endpoints which each are returning part of a model.'s data :

model: function() {
		const id = this.paramsFor('users.user').id;
		const promises = {
			a: this.get('store').queryRecord('mymodel', {
				id: id,
				endpoint: 'a'
			}),
			b: this.get('store').queryRecord('mymodel', {
				id: id,
				endpoint: 'b'
			})
		};

return hash(promises);
	},

Is there a way of getting a model which concats the data of all the endpoints instead of having to deal the “alias” of each query like : this.model.a.xxxx

Note : I’m using ember 3.14 Note 2 : I’m quite new to the ember world , so maybe i asking something that shouldn’t be done

Hi @grunk, welcome! There are a lot of answers and the right one really depends on your code and APIs, as well as what you’re trying to do.

First let’s make sure we’re disambiguating the term “model” because this can muddy the waters. An Ember Data “Model” is a class that represents the “shape” of a resource. A resource being (typically at least) “a row in a database”. That’s not to say that your models must have 1:1 correlation with your database but Ember Data is designed around the idea of models/resources and if your data doesn’t fit that shape you end up contorting your code. A route “model” on the other hand is just the results of the route’s model hook, and that could be quite literally anything: ember data models, fetch results, raw JSON, anything you want (usually something “thenable” so it can be waited on). The hash method you’re using above is very typical when a route is loading more than one thing at a time. The route model hook should return a single value so the hash is a way to wait on them in parallel and also group them together into a single value.