Question on autofocus for form field

I have a textarea that I need to autofocus on every time the page loads. I have it working by setting autofocus=“true” on my textarea. The problem is that when I click a link-to and move around the site then back it doesn’t focus. Only when I manually refresh the page. What is the best way to make this always trigger?

Whenever I want to autofocus (assuming this form field is in a component), I use the didInsertElement hook.

didInsertElement() {
  this._super(...arguments);
  this.$('[autofocus]').focus();
});

Or, without jquery, this should work:

didInsertElement() {
  this.element.querySelectory('[autofocus]').focus();
});

Every time this component is inserted into the dom, it will force it to focus.

Interesting. I do not have a component for the field. All I have is on the page

{{textarea value=model.srdescription class=“form-control form-control-line” autofocus=“true”}}

I’m new to ember. How would I set up a component for this?

Welcome, Chris! The best way to grasp all of the concepts are to go through the component section of the ember guides.

Give it some time to steep and make sure to experiment. Lots of folks are trying to make those guides as helpful as possible. Please report back here if there are things that don’t make sense. I’ll try my best to answer them. Then, if you’re interested, we can work together to get the guides improved.

@Chris_Stewart GitHub - ember-a11y/ember-component-focus: A mixin for adding methods to your Ember components that help you manage the currently focused element. focusses (pun intended) on this :slight_smile:

Thanks! I was able to get it working with the component and your examples listed above.