Route separation between backend and frontend

Hello,

I am just getting started with emberjs/onepage apps and one thing I am not sure how to solve. I notice that many examples add the # char to the url to be able to navigate through the app. For my app I want the URL’s to look like a normal webpage without the # char, i.e. domain.com/profile/photo and not Domain Names - Buy a Website Domain - Domain.com. This should be possible with html5?

The second issue is how do I handle the backend requests without using the # char? If I type domain.com/profile/photo the web server will try and serve that request and not the ember app. I am guessing I will need to rewrite requests on the backend? One scenario I am thinking of doing is if a user is logged out I serve static HTML pages from the backend server. If the user is logged in I serve the emberjs app. This way my non-logged in site is crawlable by google and others. Any ideas how to make this work?

Thanks, Michael

With regards to your first issue, add:

App.Router.reopen({
});

More info on that here.

With regards to your second issue, I’m not entirely sure. I assume Ember will intercept those requests somehow (with the hash location API the index file would always be loaded making that easy, so I’m not so sure about with the history location API).

Thanks for your reply! I will try that out. Yes I am not sure how that would work as when I type a direct url I assume the browser will make a http request to the backend?

You’ll need to create a catch-all route on the server to this feature. If you think about it, ember has no control over the browser when someone enters your site through something like domain.com/sample/ember/route. Most likely, your server side routing will try to pick this up and serve a page. Your catch all should grab all these requests and redirect to the single entry point, and then ember will do the rest after your default page is served.