Store Returns Empty Object on Call from Action

Hi all, I am pretty new to Ember and i encountered a problem which I worked around but I am very curious about it. I have the following route:

export default Ember.Route.extend( {
   model: function(params) {
      this.store.unloadAll('apiary');
      this.store.unloadAll('beehive');
      this.store.adapterFor('beehive').set('namespace', 'api/v1/apiaries/' + params.apiary_name.replace(/ /g, "."));
     var hives = this.store.find('beehive');
     this.store.adapterFor('beehive').set('namespace', 'api/v1');
     return Ember.RSVP.hash({
             apiary: this.store.find('apiary', params.apiary_name.replace(/ /g, ".")),
             beehives: hives
  });

},
actions:{
showLineChart: function(type, beehiveId) {      
  var self=this;   
  self.controller.set('lineChartData', this.store.find('beehive_inspection', {by_beehive: beehiveId})); // returns nothing
  this.store.find('beehive_inspection', {by_beehive: beehiveId}).then(function(a) {
    self.controller.set('lineChartData', a.get('content')); //returns ok 
  });
}

} });

The model hook works just fine and returned all the data correctly. However when the showLineChart action is called (from a component) if I try to access the store again using store find without handling its response, the returned value is always empty although i can see the request is made in my back end. To get the data i had to handle the response and get its content. Any idea why this happens ?

How I understand it, although I could be mistaken:

The model hook expects to return a promise, so it handles the promise behind the scenes to get the data from it. When accessing data returned through promises in most other cases, eg. with find(), you need to explicitly handle the promise and act on the result.