Why is ember-cli so important for the future of ember?

Hey everyone. I’m just getting into ember for the first time over the past month. I have a lot of experience with both front and back end MVC frameworks, including backbone, rails, and laravel.

Honestly, the most frustrating part for me so far has been ember-cli. As a developer, I already have a set of tools that I’m used to using (grunt, gulp, sprockets for rails, etc), and I’m really frustrated that the ember community has pretty much decided that I need to be using the tools packaged in ember-cli (broccoli, jshint, etc) instead. I understand that ember is an opinionated framework, but I feel that it is a bit overreaching for ember to also become opinionated about what build tools I should use. I particularly have gripe with broccoli, which seems to be a CPU, memory, and storage hog.

I’ll admit that the command-line package management feature of ember-cli is pretty nice (mimicking ruby’s gem service), but it’s not game changing. It definitely isn’t worth the trouble the rest of ember-cli has been causing me. Also, ember-cli seems bloated and the code strikes me as messy.

I’ve read in a few places how ember-cli is the future, and how it is the next, necessary step for ember. However, I have not really seen any justification for these claims. Could you all kindly explain to me why forcing me to build my project with certain tools is so important for the future of ember?

1 Like

My take is it’s similar to why shipyards use cranes and shipping containers. When you know you have a ton of stuff to haul/move, creating a uniform process that enables easier bulk distribution and reorganization / transport of the ingredients is the most efficient and often used method.

Ember-CLI = Crane Components = Containers Ember-JS Code = Stuff in containers

A skyscrapers analogy also works with crane + scaffolding sorta, but I hope you get the idea

Everyone is entitled to their opinion. I share the opposite feelings.