Am I Using Express with Ember "right"?

Hello Ember community. :slightly_smiling:

I am new to Ember after deciding Angular 2 is too freaking weird and unattractive.

I am developing a full-stack app using Ember and Express.

My file structure

(This is inside the main project folder)

• client (made from ember-cli generator)
  • server (server routes, etc.)
  • api (api routes)
  • server.js (use command node server.js to start)

Plus some additional top-level server stuff.

How am I working with my own REST API and serving Ember files?

Server.js

//server.js

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// Init routes                                        //
// APIs *MUST* be declared first, as everything after //
// will render Ember client code.                     //
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

// Allows call to my REST API
require('./api/core')(server);

// Now set server to look at generated ember client files
server.use(express.static(__dirname + '/client/dist'));
server.use('/', require('./server/routes'));

/server/routes.js

//routes.js

// Location to built dist by Ember
var rootPath = './client/dist/';

// Route ALL locations to index.html, the main Ember app
router.get('*', function(request, response) {

// Send index.html
    response.sendFile('index.html', { root: rootPath });
});

module.exports = router;

I think the key part is that everything works. I tested my API, which returns successfully. I also tested going to / (index) and /about (sample about page to test a non-index route). Both work as intended. :slight_smile:

tl;dr So the question is: is this the proper way to be doing things with Ember and Express?

From my point of view, it appears that I have the “middle” set up and can begin developing the front-end (Ember) and backend (REST API) separately, as intended.

I think the right way would be use one of these libraries

http://jsonapi.org/implementations/#server-libraries-node-js