Ember CLI + Express.js

I’m a programming beginner Things I’ve had my hands on are HTML, CSS, JavaScript, jQuery, Express.js, MongoDB, Mongoose.js.

I’ve built a simple blog with those. For the sake of learning I would like to use a front-end framework… I was trying to learn and use backbone at first, but our relationship wasn’t that smooth. So after struggling with it for couple of month - I’ve decided to take a look at smtn else. So it brings me here…

My question/favor is… I have an idea on how to built a simple app with express, even though I’m not sure and I didn’t try, yet - I’d like to see how ember cli would work with express.js.

On Ember CLI TUTORIALS The very first thing is Rails + Ember.js (with the Ember CLI)

Is there any chance to have something like Express.js + Ember.js (with the Ember CLI) Would be awesome to see

• how app is structured
  • how ember talks to API
  • how is it deployed
  • how the build process works.

I’ve tried to play around with it, but unfortunately I’m a beginner and it all looks weird.
Any links to resources, tuts for these two techs together are highly appreciated.

1 Like

I am using Sails, which sits on top of Express. It provides basic blueprints which you can modify or you can define your own custom actions through routes and controller actions. It is quite easy to set up basic Sails+Ember project, but this basic setting may be hard to develop in. I had to develop front end and back-end separately which is a pain. Now there are some cool projects which let you run both front end and back end servers at the same time.

I have a good experience with this: https://chiefy.github.io/2014/09/03/sails-generate-ember.html

Only thing I struggle with at the moment is populating models. I have to use DS.attr(‘string’) and populate things explicitly…