As a newbie, start with 1.12.x or 2.0-beta?

TL;DR: As a developer new to Ember (but not to web development), should I jump right into 2.0-beta in spite of the documentation being focused on 1.12.x or should I learn 1.12.x first and move on once I’m comfortable there?

Hey, guys! I’d categorize myself as an intermediate web app developer. I’ve been doing it for right at two years now and have experience in the now-essentially-dead Durandal and the widely-accepted Angular. I’ve just started up a new project with some friends and am trying to pick a front-end framework that will work best for our app.

One of the biggest factors for us is search engine friendliness. Most people will find our app via searching for content added by users to our site. My original plan was to use Angular, but then I realized that Angular’s client-side-only approach could create problems. Granted this is not as much of a problem as it was a couple of years ago before Google and Bing started executing JavaScript with their bots, but it can still present problems in other contexts from what I’ve heard. This led me to look for a framework or architecture that would allow for easy server-side rendering while still being able to leverage all the goodies that come with a client-side app.

My gut reaction was to go with a React + Browserify style approach and just be smart about the architecture, but I’m afraid that will intimidate my friends who are quite new to development. They are more comfortable with HTML and CSS than JavaScript and JSX is quite a shock to someone who hasn’t seen it before.

This has lead me to Ember. As I understand it, 2.0 will see Ember move to a new virtual-DOM-based rendering engine as well as introducing Ember FastBoot which will give me the server-side rendering I need. This has me quite excited! However, it seems Ember’s guides are still targeting 1.12.x which has left me with this conundrum: