Ember cli build stuck when using --environment=production?

Hi, I am new to Ember so please bear with me if this is obvious. We have built our Ember application and done deployment with ember build (default without options) successfully to dev testing environment without issue. Now I like to deploy the application to UAT then production, so I thought it is a good idea to use the production build which will minify everything if I understand correctly.

However the ember build --environment=production command or ember build -prod command always got stuck at building phase, I never receive the build is successful message. How can we see what is going on, and where it went wrong? I cannot see a option switch that output debug log etc. What should we do to resolve the issue?

happy case :

ember build version: 1.13.8 Building. Built project successfully. Stored in “dist/”.

not happy case:

ember build --environment=production version: 1.13.8 Building…

(never return and display the last build project successfully message)

We are using ember cli 1.13.8 and ember 2.1. We do have some deprecation warning when running the application.

Thanks

I eventually figure out that build process is not stuck, it is just taking a long time, because, it does not give any feedback, there is no way to tell. Our production build is more than 50 minutes, sometime a little more than 60 minutes. Just for ppl interested.

It will be nice if the build script could give some feedback. Still yet to figure out why minification take so long, since there is no feedback, I do not even know which file or library is taking so long.

Um. There’s definitely something very wrong here. My production builds take about 15-20 seconds on a moderate size app.

Would you mind posting your package.json and ember-cli-build.js files? Also ember --version would be great.

:anguished: 50minutes? do you run it on Windows? if so, use power shell and run it as administrator.