Ember Data Backend

I’m just getting started with Ember, and I’m feeling like I’m missing something.

I’ve gotten an app working, with routes and models and templates and everything. But when I try to save my model I get a 404 from the server. And I can’t find anything anywhere about how to write the backend code that the Ember Data code talks to.

Is it simply that Ember doesn’t do this at all? In which case I’ve not noticed any mention of that anywhere yet. Or is there a way of doing this that I’ve just not found yet? I’ve seen plenty of mentions of people using Rails and the like, but I’m not sure if they’re actually up to date or not.

I’m running the app using “ember serve” so I’m not sure how I could plug other forms of request handlers in to this. I can easily enough run my backend as another service on another port, but that feels like it defeats the point of “ember serve” getting everything up and running in one go.