Ember Form Submission without controller

Hi

I am new to ember and I am looking for a way to submit my form without the help of controllers because all the example I find on internet uses controllers for example a fiddle showing this : Ember Latest - JSFiddle - Code Playground

Can you actualy help in form submission.

Actions should bubble up to your routes if you are in a top level template.

Example:

Ember.Route.extend({
  actions: {
    submission() {
      console.log("handle form submission");
    }
  }
})

form:

<form {{action "submission" on="submit"}}>
  <button type="submit">Submit</button>
</form>

I hope this helps!

Ben

There is also the route-action-helper: GitHub - DockYard/ember-route-action-helper: Bubble closure actions in routes

It’s probably a touch controversial but right now I am continuing to use controllers. Yes, they will be removed at some point but I don’t see that happening for a long time given how embedded they are in pretty much every app/addon.

I think that avoiding using them now actually feels more hacky and prone to issues than just doing things the “old way” and migrating at a later date if/when controllers are actually fully removed.

It doesn’t feel like removing controllers is a priority for the Ember team (and I agree with them) and trying to eliminate them is a lot of work and sometimes requires some very smelly code IMO.

1 Like

See they might remove or not remove them but Since there spec says that it should not be used whenever creating a new app I should avoid them.

Using them now is like adding to already existing problem of many app/add-on using them.

Thanks

Not controversial at all. In fact, this is why they’re still around and the engineers making assumptions on what the future holds aren’t doing themselves a service.

I’d disagree for a few reasons:

• Avoiding controllers is actually a lot of extra work right now
  • It rules out using some of the best Ember add-ons