Ember Forum Theme 🎉

:wave: I’m a designer on the Discourse team, and I’ve spent some time this week building a theme to get things feeling a bit more Embery.

I’ve just enabled it as the default here. If you notice any issues or have any feedback let me know.

22 Likes

It is looking good!

The one thing that I noticed that looked weird is the login buttons (social networks).

Thanks for working on this!

3 Likes

Thank you, @awesomerobot, it looks slick!

2 Likes

I’m really digging it, thanks for working on this @awesomerobot!

Love the new theme, really stands out among the other Discourse forums I’m in.

2 Likes

look nice!

Pretty minor, but I noticed the buttons have a tendency to blink rapidly upon mouse-over:

Great work @awesomerobot!

The other day I was reading a post on Elm’s discourse form and really liked the readability of their theme. I wanted to float some suggestions out there and see if they resonate with you/our community.

Here’s a screenshot from an example post over there:

And here’s a post from Ember’s forum:

Some thoughts:

• I like how their general color & typographic choices put the content front-and-center, and deemphasize other aspects of the interface.
  • Ember’s current theme has lots of elements that grab your attention - a strong orange header with larger buttons; the strong Testing tag; the bright orange slider for paginating
  • I like how Elm’s site uses gray text to deemphasize the secondary parts of the interface (the author name, the date of the post, the elements of the paginator)
  • I also like how their code blocks feel like part of the post, with the low-contrast background. Ember’s code blocks really stand out and distract the natural flow of the post’s content
  • Elm’s typography is also a bit smaller which makes the whole interface a bit denser & fits more content on a single screen. I like approach as I feel it’s aligned with the nature & expectation of the site: a forum for developers