Fresh UI for old content

Hi,

first off : i am completely new to ember and haven’t created an app yet, so this may seem like a very silly question, please bare with me! I am trying to understand if I could create an app which displays dynamically generated content from a remote server. I read that it is possible to have some code running on a server which “connects” to the ember framework once the page reaches the client and so a communication between the two (server pages and ember app) is possible. The problem, however, is that the developer of that server is no longer reachable, there is way to access that code. The content, however, is quite relevant so I was wondering if it is possible to create an ember app which reads that remote and completely dynamic content and then displays it , say maybe with a fresher UI. think of it like a toolbar sitting on top of every page and the UI-modified content from the remote server under it. Unfortunately, no API’s to that content exist either, that would be easy. I did something like that with a browser extension using JQuery and it works, however extensions don’t run on all mobile browser and that is a requirement now. Also, I am aware that I could do something server based myself and create a proxy, but I was wondering if there is a simpler client based way using ember maybe?

Thanks!

Hi @vim! Welcome to Ember and sorry it took a while to get a response. It was a holiday weekend so I for one have been out. Anyway I’m pretty sure Ember (or any other SPA framework like Angular, React, etc really) is exactly what you want here. The only thing you want to make sure is that you’ll be able to make AJAX requests to the remove server and all that entails (authentication, authorization, does it require any API keys, etc).