Friendly (slug) URLs instead of ID

I’m just getting started with Ember and I’m trying to set up friendly URLs for an example recipes app (with Firebase/emberfire).

I’m hoping to be able to get URLs that look something like /recipes/beans-on-toast. So far, everything’s working if I arrive at the URL from a {{#link-to}}, but if I visit the URL directly, it won’t work.

Various sources have suggested the serialize() hook as being something that needs to be configured, but hasn’t appeared to help.

Have I overlooked something basic?

Here’s my setup:

// models/recipe.js
import DS from 'ember-data';

export default DS.Model.extend({
  title: DS.attr('string'),
  slug: DS.attr('string'),
  description: DS.attr('string'),
});

// routes/recipe.js
import Ember from 'ember';

export default Ember.Route.extend({
  model(params) {
    return this.store.find('recipe', params.slug);
  },

// Not sure if this is necessary
  serialize(model) {
    return {
      slug: model.get('slug')
    };
  }
});

// router.js
import Ember from 'ember';
import config from './config/environment';

const Router = Ember.Router.extend({
});

Router.map(function() {
  this.route('recipes');
  this.route('recipe', {path: '/recipes/:slug'});
});

export default Router;

Serialize is the piece that computes the url part from the model. It is indeed required. It is the reason it works when you navigate in your site.

The model hook does the reverse: convert the url part into an actual model. Here, you feed the slug into a find request. Set up like this, it will perform a GET on /recipe/some-slug/. So for it to work, you would need your API to also use the slug in its url construction.

Or, you could change the model constructor to do another query, for instance find('recipe', {slug: params.slug}) should perform a GET on /recipe/?slug=some-slug

2 Likes

There’s actually a specific Ember Data hook for this: Store - 4.6 - Ember API Documentation