How do a test promise isFulfilled in integration tests?

Hi I’m quite new to promises and definitely promises in Ember. I’m using EMber 2.18

I have a component with the following conditional:

{{#if totalAmount.isFulfilled}}
    <p data-test-total-amount>{{numeral-format (if totalAmount.count totalAmount.count 0)}}</p>
{{/if}}

If the promise is fulfilled then a value will show and I want to test that it shows correctly, otherwise is should show zero.

SO I have this component, where uniqueInteractions is the result of an ajax request : {{ui-circle-section totalAmount=uniqueInteractions}}

And just to test that I can use a promise and have it produce a value when fulfilled I tried:

var uniqueInteractions = new Promise(function(resolve) {
  return resolve("459");
});

await this.set('uniqueInteractions', uniqueInteractions);

But, that just doesn’t work. What’s the “ember” pattern for doing this?

isFulfilled is not a feature of Promises in general. It’s a feature of PromiseProxy. You’re probably getting a PromiseProxy because that’s what ember-data returns.

If you want, in your test you can also make a PromiseProxy, so that the test acts like the real usage. The page I just linked starts with a code snippet showing how.

Alternatively, there are a couple other patterns that I think are less confusing and easier to test.

• the most Emberish idiom is to try to keep as much data loading as possible in your Routes. I wrote a lot more about that topic here.

• or you can use ember-promise-helpers in order to make your template deal correctly with any Promise (without requiring a PromiseProxy). It could look something like

{{#with (await totalAmount) as |resolvedAmount|}}
       <p data-test-total-amount>{{numeral-format (if resolvedAmount.count resolvedAmount.count 0)}}</p>
    {{{/with}}

Also, this is a tangential suggestion but it may be helpful since you’re learning about Promises. This:

var uniqueInteractions = new Promise(function(resolve) {