Why does ember changes so fast?

Hello im new to ember and im trying to learn how to use it and it’s been hard trying to find tutorials that are up to date. I recently subscribed to teamtreehouse and did the emberjs course, thinking that it should teach me most of the stuff i need to start using ember and it did help a lot. The issue i have now is that Ember changed so much that I feel like i have to re-learn ember again. So I decided to purchase a book on ember online. The book was published in May 2015 so i thought it would be good because it would have up to date information. and when i use the code that comes with the book some files from the code are already old like for example the brocfile.js . Apparently it got renamed to ember-cli-build.js. It took me a while to figure this out by going online and reading through documentation. Is there a version of ember that is not going change soon ? I don’t want to learn something now and have to re-learn it 2 months from now again.

1 Like

It’s going to be a case of continuous learning I’m afraid - the whole tech industry is like this but maybe JS is faster paced than most ATM?

Books and even blogs will be outdated fast so find a way to stay on top of it - twitter, mailing lists, stalk the repo whatever. But you can’t rely on books ATM, maybe after 2.0 is bedded in?

It’s worth the effort though :slight_smile:

It’s a good point mate! I think everyone struggles with this.

I think what you need when everything moves so fast is an up-to-date list of recent resources that you know you can use which are current for where things are at.

I thought this and then I thought, wait hang on there’s Ember Weekly. So my suggestion is that you sign up for the free Ember Weekly newsletter and in most editions there is usually articles for beginners and how to get started.

Oh and follow along on the forum here, For example I just saw this:

1 Like

There’s Ember.js the library, and there’s Ember.js the ecosystem.

Library